Canadian Society of Zoologists

Advancing the Study of Animals and their Environment

Société canadienne de zoologie

Favoriser l'étude des animaux et de leur environnement

Awards Home
Accueil Prix
Fry Medal
Médaille Fry
Boutilier Award
Prix Boutilier
Distinguished Service Medal
Médaille de distinction

Cameron Award
Prix Cameron
Public Awareness Award
Prix de la Presse
Margolis Scholarship
La bourse de Margolis
Public Education Award
Prix de la vulgarisation scientifique

Hoar Award
Prix Hoar
Battle Award
Prix Battle
Wardle Award
Prix Wardle
PDF Award
Prix pour chercheur postdoctoral

Fallis Award
Prix Fallis
Hall Award
Prix Hall
Lindsey Award
Prix Lindsey
Holeton Award
Prix Holeton

Conference Grant
Subvention de conférence
Research Grant
Subvention de recherche
CPB Research Grant
Subvention de recherche section PBC

Cameron Award - Le prix Cameron

T. W. M. Cameron Outstanding Ph. D. Thesis Award

Terms of reference


This is an annual award, established by the Canadian Society of Zoologists to recognize the author of an outstanding Ph. D. Thesis in Zoology submitted to a Canadian University.


The recipient of the award will be invited to present a lecture on the subject of the dissertation to the Annual General Meeting. He/she will be presented with a commemorative scroll at the time. In order to facilitate attendance of the recipient at the meeting, reasonable expenses for air travel at minimum rates and all accommodation and meals at the meeting will be paid by the Society, up to a maximum of $1,500. When a recipient is located at a great distance from the site of the Annual General Meeting, it may be necessary to defer or waive the presentation or lecture. The Executive may consider applications by the recipient for increased expense reimbursement.

Funding of Prize

Funded through ZET.

Frequency of availability

Maximum of one per year. The award need not be made every year.

Application/nomination procedures:

Nominations are to be made to the Chair of the Cameron Award Committee. For nomination, a thesis must have been accepted at a Canadian University within the period of July 1 of the year preceding the nomination deadline to June 30 of the year of the nomination deadline. Only one thesis may be nominated by a department, though more than one department in an university may nominate a thesis.

A nominated thesis should be accompanied by a joint letter from the Chair of the Department and the Supervisor indicating their reasons for the nomination. Theses should be saved in pdf format and emailed to the Chair of the Cameron Award. Thesis files larger than 10 Mb should be sent by mail on a single CD or DVD to the Chair of the Cameron Award. 

Application deadline

15 August of each year. ***The deadline for receipt of nominations for the Cameron Award has been extended until September 8, 2014.